What to Expect at a Recreational Dispensary in New Jersey
We have obtained a recreational cannabis retail license for our MPXNJ Atlantic City dispensary location. We now serve medical patients and recreational consumers in New Jersey. Many New Jersey residents still have questions about what they can legally purchase and where. If you’re new to the world of cannabis and are interested in visiting our dispensary locations near you, we have all the information regarding what to expect at a recreational dispensary.
How Do I Purchase Recreational Cannabis in New Jersey?
On Wednesday morning, April 19, 2023, Atlantic City Mayor Marty Small signed the first recreational cannabis business license in the city and issued it to MPXNJ for its Atlantic City location. As of 4/20, our Atlantic City location now serves medical patients and recreational consumers Atlantic City’s first recreational marijuana dispensary, MPX NJ, opens on 4/20 | PhillyVoice. The main difference between a medical patient and a recreational consumer is that a recreational consumer does not have to obtain a medical cannabis card. However, you can still expect to be carded at any dispensary.
In order to purchase cannabis from a recreational dispensary in New Jersey, you must:
- be a New Jersey resident or visitor,
- at least 21 years or older, and must have
- a government-issued ID.
New Jersey Cannabis Regulatory, Enforcement Assistance, and Marketplace Modernization (CREAMM) Act, the legal sale and use of cannabis and cannabis products are for residents 21 years and older. The NJ-CRC rules establish the recreational cannabis industry in the state (“Recreational Use”).”
To become a medical patient, you’ll first need to obtain your medical cannabis card. Please visit our MPXNJ website for additional information: Click Here
Is There a Limit on How Much Recreational Cannabis I Can Purchase?
“In each transaction, dispensaries are allowed to sell up to the equivalent of 28.35 grams or 1 ounce of usable cannabis. That means up to:
- 28.35 grams (1 ounce) of dried flower, or
- 4 grams of solid cannabis concentrates or resin, or the equivalent of 4 grams of concentrate in liquid form (solution in milliliters), or
- 4 grams of vaporized formulations (oil), or
- 1000 mg of multiple ingestible cannabis-infused products (Ten 100 mg packages) like gummies
A purchase of a combination of products may be 1/2 ounce of dried flower plus 2 grams of concentrate, or 5 packages of gummies and 1/2 ounce of dried flower.
Legally allowable product categories include dried flower, concentrated oils, resin, vape formulas, tinctures, topicals, syringes, lozenges, and soft chews, but availability will vary by dispensary. Perishable edibles like cookies and brownies are not available for purchase from any dispensary.
Equivalency is based on the total weight of the product sold. For products containing both THC and CBD, equivalency is based on the total weight of the concentrate. For example, a product containing 400 mg of CBD and 100 mg of THC, total weight is 500 mg or 0.5 grams”.
How Much Will the Products Cost?
Prices will vary depending on each dispensary, but a 6.625% NJ sales tax. At our Atlantic City location, you’ll also pay a 2% local tax.
Can I Purchase with Cash, or a Debit Card at the Dispensary?
Although some medical cannabis dispensaries offer cashless systems, most dispensaries remain cash-only businesses. As a form of cashless payment, we also accept CanPay at our MPXNJ dispensaries. CanPay is a debit payment app that allows you to pay for your purchases at cannabis retailers with a simple debit to your checking account when you make a purchase. To learn how CanPay can save you time and money, click here(link): Consumers – CanPay Debit.
Where Can I Consume My Cannabis?
You are allowed to consume cannabis in private spaces, such as your home and other private businesses that allow smoking on the property.
Can I Take My Purchases to Another State?
No, it is still illegal to transport cannabis across state lines.
Can I Give Cannabis as a Gift?
Yes, you are allowed to give cannabis a gift. However, you can only gift cannabis to another adult 21 years or older. You are only allowed to gift up to 1 ounce of cannabis. In addition, you may not accept any form of payment or compensation for the gifted cannabis.
License holder: MPX New Jersey, LLC (MPX NJ)
This product contains cannabis. For use only by adults 21 years of age or older. Keep out of the reach of children. There may be health risks associated with the consumption of this product, including for women who are pregnant, breastfeeding, or planning on becoming pregnant. Do not drive a motor vehicle or operate heavy machinery while using this product. MPX NJ is licensed by the State of New Jersey.
Sources:“Recreational Use.” Recreational Use, Cannabis Regulatory Commission, https://www.nj.gov/cannabis/adult-personal/
Can you use a PA drivers license?
Yes you can use any valid out of state drivers license including PA.